"To preserve the reputation of the Fraternity unsullied must be your constant care."


Thursday, March 31, 2011

Arturo de Hoyos to Receive Minnesota Masonic Education Award

Each year, the Grand Lodge of Minnesota AF&AM bestows the Duane E. Anderson Excellence in Masonic Education Award at its annual communication. Read the story of Right Worshipful Brother Duane E. Anderson, PGM, and the award given in his honor, here.

The 2011 National recipient at the 158th Grand Lodge of Minnesota Annual Communication in St. Cloud, April 8-9, 2011, will be Illustrious Brother Arturo de Hoyos, 33°.

Art is a Past Master of McAllen Lodge No. 1110, AF&AM of Texas, and is the Grand Archivist and Grand Historian for the Supreme Council, 33°, Scottish Rite of Freemasonry Southern Jurisdiction in Washington, D.C. He is respected the world over as an an authority on the history, rituals, and symbolism of Freemasonry. Sometimes jokingly referred to as the "Grand Archivist of the Universe," he is the author, editor, and translator of numerous books and articles. He has an encyclopedic memory, reads many languages, and has been responsible for the rediscovery and illumination of numerous works about the Scottish Rite, including Pike's Esoterika, David Bernard's Light on Masonry, and the incredible Scottish Rite Ritual Monitor and Guide. And he's a first class shot.

Congratulations, Art!

Past recipients of the award:
National Awards

2010 No award presented

2009 Robert G. Davis, author

2008 Edward R. Halpaus, Grand Lodge Education Officer of the Grand Lodge of Minnesota

2007 Akram Elias, Past Grand Master, Grand Lodge of the District of Columbia

2006 Christopher Hodapp, author

2005 James Tresner, author

2004 Robert Conley, Past Grand Master, Grand Lodge of Michigan

2003 S. Brent Morris, author

2003 Nelson King, editor of the Philalethes Magazine

2003 Forrest Haggard, author and Past Grand Master, Grand Lodge of Kansas

Minnesota Awards

2010 No award presented

2009 John A. Freeburg - Anoka Lodge No. 30

2008 Bruce L. Sherman - Ancient Landmark Lodge No. 5, Olaf Kuhlke - Palestine Lodge No. 79

2007 Roger M. Firestone - Ancient Landmark Lodge No. 5,

2006 J. Kenneth Allsen - Rochester Lodge No. 21

2005 - Neil E. Neddermeyer - Wayzata Lodge No. 205

2004 Dexter Pehle - Minnehaha Lodge No. 165, Terry L. Tilton - Eveleth Lodge No. 239, James R. Billig - Clearwater Lodge No. 28, David A. Rahm - Helios Lodge No. 273

2003 John Worlein - Fidelity Lodge No. 39, Thomas Evans - Bloomington Lodge No. 340, Edward R. Halpaus - Mora Lodge No. 223, Anthony P. Keane, Lake Superior Lodge No. 349

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments will not appear immediately because I am forced to laboriously screen every post. I'm constantly bombarded with spam. Depending on the comments being made, anonymous postings on Masonic topics may be regarded with the same status as cowans and eavesdroppers, as far as I am concerned. If you post with an unknown or anonymous account, do not automatically expect to see your comment appear.